AI Knowledge Map: how to classify AI technologies

A sketch of a new AI technology landscape

Francesco Corea
11 min readAug 29, 2018

A shorter version of this article appeared first on Forbes

I. Introductory thoughts

I have been in the space of artificial intelligence for a while, and I am aware that multiple classifications, distinctions, landscapes, and infographics exist to represent and track the different ways to think about AI. However, I am not a big fan of those categorization exercises, mainly because I tend to think that the effort of classifying dynamic data points into predetermined fix boxes is often not worth the benefits of having such a “clear” framework (it is a generalization of course, cause sometimes they are extremely useful).

When it comes specifically to artificial intelligence, I do also think that many of the categorizations out there are either incomplete or unable to capture strong fundamental links and aspects of this new AI wave.

So let me first tell you the rationale for this post. Working with strategic innovation agency Chôra

--

--

Francesco Corea

Data science @ Greycroft. Previously @Balderton @Anthemis @UCLA. All opinions are my own.